Ash Island Barge

What a fabulous day! Seriously, some days are good, some are great, today? FABULOUS. We drove over the border and joined in on a 1400 dive with the Thousand Island Pleasure Diving, a boat company that runs dive boats on the St. Lawrence from Caigers. With all of our new gear ready to go out, we joined up with the boat and found a group of 5 other gentleman from Toronto, York Region Scuba group, already loading up their equipment as well.

Ash Island Barge

The ride out to the first dive site was filled with equipment checks, attaching our BCD (Buoyency Control Device) to the tanks that we had picked up from the Dive Tech shop. And of course the fun dance of sliding into a full 7mm wetsuit, complete with boots, gloves, and hood (well gloves and hood for me – DH is a polar bear). I say sliding and its more like trying to shove your body into a full body ‘er… ummm – condom.  It’s a real fun time watching others, but a pain in the ass doing it yourself, the hood especially. I think I lost a thousand strands of hair pulling it off.
Ash Island Barge

Ash Island Barge

Our first drive would be a drift dive along the right side of Ash Island, our first drift dive. From head to to looking like a baby seal with pink fins, I stepped off of the back of the boat and went in. Expecting my normal panic to settle in I was happy to find there was little to adjust or become relaxed with and as soon as DH and I were set we began to release the air from our BCD and submerge. He kept eye contact with me and watched for me to struggle, I had to keep giving him the OK sign to let him know I was actually settling in! The water temperature an initial shock to the seams of my suit didn’t seem to effect us either as our body heat warmed the small streams of water caught between our skin and suit as we moved.

Ash Island Barge

River dives are way different, the green water reflections create a more “Swamp Monster” view and there are no colorful fish to dazzle your view. But there are hidden treasures as you float, the shells, barnacles on the rocks at the base of the island, small fish dart about the shadows, and off to the right. What was that? The bow a sunken barge appeared as a shadow, becoming clearer as we came in line with it. Our first sunken ship! I was so excited as DH and I exchanged looks and pointed. All to soon the 24 minutes of our dive, 112 feet the max depth and 62 degree water adventure came to an end. We came up right where we were supposed to at the end of the peninsula, our fellow divers and boat a welcome sight.

Ash Island Barge

I’ll be honest and say what the article only eludes to: Diving was a major undertaking at facing my fear of the water. I’ve ALWAYS been terrified of swimming in anything besides a pool, contained and completely visible without anything that could possibly eat you. :) What this is teaching me is that if you allow your fears to control you – you may miss out on the most amazing experiences of your LIFE!
About JennyO

Husband and Wife duo. Married since 2007! Best friends we begin our journey together. Enjoy the ride with us!!

Posted on June 23, 2014, in Travel - Canada and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  2. Jenny, I am TERRIFIED of the water. I am always the person to stay safely on the beach while everyone else goes in…I’ll take your advice to heart about facing fears…just not sure I’m ready to dive in! :)

  3. It wouldn’t have occurred to me to go diving in the St Lawrence. My diving experiences have been limited to tropical waters. It sounds like it was a great experience though.

    I’ve never been deeper than 70 ft. I’m glad to hear someone else feels anxiety getting into the water. It’s not just the initial shock of the cold water. For me, it’s the sound of my own breathing in my ears … and an irrational fear of getting lost and/or being left behind. My stomach seems to anchor itself at the back of my throat!

    • Thank you so much for sharing that… and yes I totally understand that feeling of getting lost, my throat closes up sometimes and its hard to fight that feeling, that is where they eye contact helps.

      >

I'd love to hear what you think, let me know you've been here with a hello. All comments are read and if you leave your blog address I'll be sure to visit!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

