Diving with Lobstah Monstah!

So Tuesday we decided to take an overcast morning and go into Westerly to Avi’s shop to pick up some tanks for diving. We have found with many of the dive groups, you just have to have your own or you run into having to go to a shop to rent them prior to the dive and after. Also, we are really starting to explore this whole “walking in” option with many dive sites where you don’t even need a boat to explore! Fort Wetherill in Jamestown is just one of those sites. We had gone once before with a family member of hubsters, so we were familiar with the site.

Fot Wetherill Dive

Using our very own gear and tanks! This is the first dive we did on our own without a dive group.

2 dive sites here. The left and right cove. The left cove has a small goat path down to the water. The right cove has a boat ramp entry, can get busy so yield to boats. Both coves have okay viz. (3-10 feet) and have pretty good life. Averages 5 feet but classes frequently drop the viz to less than 5, still plenty of room though to get away from groups. Flounder, fish, starfish, crabs, lobster, eel grass. I believe the left cove along the right wall is the best of the two. Porta potties. Easy and plentiful parking.

Fort Wetherill Dive

Another dive group out doing a certification

Special Thanks to Shore Diving for the photo of the enterance ramp to the dive site. Submitted by Dominic Corso

After entering the water and setting the buoy up to mark above the water our movement below the water, we began to submerge. Well I would say, DH submerged, I floated struggling against the buoyancy of a 7mm suit and not enough weight in my BCD to get me down. After a failed attempt to get down and stay down we went back to the enterance and DH searched the ground for rocks to add to my BCD pockets. (Something about having your husband put rocks in your pockets just struck me as wrong… LOL) finally having enough weight to submerge we started off – hand in hand we started exploring. I was disapointed to find that the visibility once again was only about 5 feet. You really had to stay to the left of the cove to keep the rocks visible and not get disoriented with where you were. We had to pop up once to figure it out once we went around the penninsula.

Starfish

Special thanks to the Dive Buddy site for this photo – I really need to invest in an underwater

Even with the low visibility during our dive we saw plenty of fish, crab, and even a starfish or two! But at one point during our dive, I had a moment of sheer panic. DH had let go of my hand, checking direction or looking at his computer. Not sure what but I was swimming forward and we had lost a little feel of the land to the left as we came around the penninsula. I was starting to get that weird feeling I sometimes get when there really isn’t much in your site that makes any of the green water look different, until in front of me, a dark shape started forming.

As I came closer the shape started to take form, and it looked like … I shit you not … a gigantic lobster at the bottom of the ocean!! I started rapidly peddling my arms trying to push myself away from the “lobstah” in front of me and felt hubster above me, I looked up frantically pointing with wide eyes as he gave me a “What’s up crazy lady??” look through his mask lenses.  Finally I gave him the lets go up signal, and we moved up to the surface (at this point we were only about 15-20 feet, so no lectures on safety stops please) as we broke the surface I started babbling about a Lobstah Monstah!

I’m like “holy shit, its this big at the bottom of the…”  as I look to the right of me a bobbing buoy marking a lobster trap splashed about.

My husband started laughing… “a WHAT?!?”  I realized I’d let my imagination take over and as he put his regulator back in to go down to take a look at this “Monster Lobster” I put my face back in the water to watch his progress down the rope. Coming back up he was laughing, yup there was an innocent tasty lobster in the trap, but what I had seen was the trap, not the gigantic lobster monster my mind came up with. Note to self;)

Lobstah Monstah

If only the water had been this clear, I would have seen what was in front of me was a lobster trap with a rope tethering it to a buoy on the surface

Our dive complete we floated into the “beach” which really was a bunch of rocks, so as soon as I could get to a standing level in the water I took off my fins and made my way carefully to the shore. It definently is a lot easier to move with an air tank strapped to your back in the water than it is to hike the thing on your back up a hill.  Oh yea and remember those rocks in my pockets?

Fort Wetherill Dive

Fort Wetherill State Park – our first dive just the two of us with all our own gear. These bad boys were my weights that I needed added to get my buoyance balanced for sea water. Awesome.

As we were cleaning gear and putting things back in the Jeep a car pulled up with a couple in the front, rolling down the window the man asked us for directions to the Juliett lighthouse. When my husband walked over to explain it we were both a little surprised to see the man pull out and unfold a map. An actual paper map! After directions were given they decided to park and the wife went off snapping pictures, as the husband stayed and chatted with us a bit. Explaining their trip was a bucket list adventure to see sites of the East Coast we swapped some tales of travel. As he asked us about dives and we talked a little more I’ll never forget one of his last comments to me:

“Well here you both are out DOING things, and here we are just driving around taking pictures of it.”

I don’t know that I would look at it that way – at least they were both out and seeing it! So many people never leave their little piece of the planet.  I’m glad we are not like that:

Fot Wetherill Dive

After our dive, a traveling couple took our pic

Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too.
Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.”

― Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

About JennyO

Husband and Wife duo. Married since 2007! Best friends we begin our journey together. Enjoy the ride with us!!

Posted on July 11, 2014, in Bucket List, Diving, Rhode Island and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow, you’re a diver! That’s so cool (& scary!) Is it calming when you’re under water like that, or exhilarating to see all that stuff?

    • & scary is right… but yes its the under water. It is calming to just move along in the water, the sound of your breathing. Sometimes you hear other noises in the distance, the thrill of discovery when you see the ships wheel or hull. Yea its pretty amazing, I must thank my husband for pushing my fear aside and opening the world under water open to me.

  2. I agree with you Jenny. I’m so glad that we are the type of people who do stuff rather than just sitting in front of the TV. I hope that life allows us to continue doing that for a very long time!!!
    I never reached the stage of getting my own tanks. Congratulations!

    • YES! Very Long Time! I saw a 70 y/o women kick ass at a triathalon this weekend, I’m so motivated to keep it moving.
      Yea I was surprised we were able to get the equipment and enjoy so many dives this summer, its so worth it! Thank you!!

I'd love to hear what you think, let me know you've been here with a hello. All comments are read and if you leave your blog address I'll be sure to visit!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

